A mural of Redwood trees in downtown Visalia and a gentleman on his way to work. At first it seemed that getting enough people to agree to let me take their picture was going to be a challenge. The day of my arrival I drove around to get the lay of the land. My first stop was a worker contractor, and although their employees were very nice they could not agree to let me shoot pictures without consent from their employer. I took a business card and moved on to a curb side strawberry stand where a couple (possibly Hmong) also politely declined.

The sculpture will be presented downtown Visalia from September 9th-11th.

I am thinking about how the project can respond to the feeling that was expressed by a field worker while I was documenting.  I enjoy a creative process most when, through involvement with the community, the project becomes fundamentally changed. It is attempting to resolve these challenges that makes the journey of a project interesting – the real relationships between the artwork and the community start shaping and improving the outcomes.

A ‘retired’ tractor baking in the sun. One dairy farmer comments as we look over a cotton field,”cotton and corn love the heat”.  She goes on to say “when it starts to get over 100 we considered hot”. Apparently we were having a cool day at 96.

We climbed up a steep incline from the garden beds at Bravo Lake Botanical Garden – behold – cool water. Manuel (the man behind Bravo Lake Botanic Gardens) made a deal with the city – he grows a garden, they water it.

This small homestead is nestled among vineyards and citrus orchards. I am told that people like to live out here because it is quiet.

